‘Cause I’m Leaving On A Jet Plane.

I expect to be back again sometime on Sunday.

My sister, who lives in Texas, has gotten a new car and is giving me her old one.  So my roommate and I are going to fly to meet with her, spend tomorrow evening with her, and then drive back Saturday and Sunday.

So I will have a kind of enforced break from my writing, which I think is going to be a good thing.  I have recently picked up writing seriously on Worms Of Heaven, but I’m thinking that I’ll come back all the more excited about finally finishing the damned thing.

I tweeted this morning that I will be looking for readers to look over just my current chapter and see if it’s too over the top.  I’ll probably be following up on that next week some time.

Eisenstrasse is going well and I intend to read through the whole work so far on the trip.  Because we have a different sort of structure–each chapter is from a different point of view–I need to stand back and get some perspective on the overall story.

I have my first chapter (prologue, really) of Endless Summer done, and I think it’s at a stage where I can put it aside until I have time.  I may do that book next, rather than the next James & Catskinner.  I’m overdue for a break from The Book Of Lost Doors.  I love the world I’ve made, but it’s damned creepy.

I have a horror short story that is going to be coming out in an anthology called Sins Of The Past. I think that the editors are aiming for an early September launch on that. It’s a fun little story, if you like being scared, called “We Pass From View”.  Fans of my work will recognize Book Of Lost Doors references, but I think it stands alone just fine.

I am going to start looking for more markets for short fiction.  I like writing short stories, particularly when the anthology has a theme.

Still hanging in there.  Still working on getting a publisher, still taking it easy on the promotion.  I do have a guest post that will be coming out, also probably next week.  I’ll repost it here when it does.

Not much to say, really, I just wanted to drop everybody a line and let you know that I am staying busy (the past week we have been crazy busy at work and short handed) and keeping more or less out of trouble.

It’s just life, you know?

See you in the funny papers.

Oh, if someone out there is thinking about doing a short story anthology and is looking for a theme: Horror stories about cheerleaders.  You can have the idea, just let me know so I can submit a story.  I got a million of them…

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ‘Cause I’m Leaving On A Jet Plane.

  1. paws4puzzles says:

    Have a good trip Misha 🙂 (And no I absolutely don’t want to write a horror story about cheerleaders, but I do know of a horror romance anthology that’s looking for contributors starting August if that’s something you might be interested in.)

  2. LindaGHill says:

    I’ll read your chapter for you. It’s gotta be pretty horrifying to horrify me though, so I may be a good one to gauge it… or not. :P.
    Enjoy your weekend, Misha. Safe trip. 🙂

  3. ioniamartin says:

    Yay for new used cars! Good luck with the break.

  4. See you on Sunday, Misha. Have a safe trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

