Why Do People Hate “Catwoman”?

I’m talking about the 2004 film here, with Halle Berry and Sharon Stone.

It is one of the most desperately hated films ever made–honestly, it has an 9% rating on Rotten Tomatoes.  By way of contrast, Blood Sucking Freaks (1978, Joel M. Reed) got 33%.

I own a copy of Catwoman on DVD and I have watched it several times. I like it.  I believe that it’s one of the better superhero based films out there.

In terms of filmcraft, it is beautiful.  The set design, lighting, and cinematography are top notch. The music is good without being intrusive. The actors are all solid professionals.  The script isn’t bad–certainly not when compared to other action films.  I think the story is compelling–not overly ambitious, perhaps, compared to the usual “save the whole damned universe” theme of most superhero movies, but I felt that the scale worked for this picture.

I simply don’t understand why it is the target of so much hatred.

The reviews manage to be both vague and savage.  Aside from an occasional jibe at the unbelievable aspects of the story (a charge that can be leveled–with more cause–against virtually every superhero movie) the reviewers don’t seem to be able to articulate what it is that they don’t like about the film.

I find that very odd.

I have a theory, but before I advance it I’d like to get some opinions.  Have you seen Catwoman?  Did you like it, did you hate it?  Can you tell me what it is about the film that inspired your reaction?

I’d really like to know.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Promotion, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Do People Hate “Catwoman”?

  1. Green Embers says:

    I think one big reason is the comic book fans were annoyed. There was a bit of mysticism in the movie, where Catwoman from the comics is really nothing more than a cat-burglar. It’s been awhile since I’ve seen it but I remember thinking it was average at best. Can’t really remember why though.

  2. tannerakane says:

    I own the DVD. Nothing wrong with the film. I’ve come to expect movies based on comics aren’t going to follow the original storyline.

  3. “The reviews manage to be both vague and savage.” This is the way of ALL dishonest reviews. The reviewer has already decided that he/she dislikes something BEFORE seeing it, and has no interest in explaining the reasons for that dislike, so no reasons are given. It’s all ‘This stinks because it stinks and if you disagree with me, you’re stoopid!’ (For the record, I’ve never seen the Catwoman movie, but I don’t know why it got so much hate, either.)

    As for the hate being because of any mysticism in the movie, this could be the comics fans’ reason, but I do seem to recall that there was a touch of mysticism in the old Batman movie that had Catwoman (played by Michelle Pfeifer?) in it, too — the bit with cats swarming around her after she falls and should have died, but the cats somehow grant her nine lives (?).

    My hypothesis is that a lot of people hated it because of who played Catwoman in this movie — they don’t approve of an “ethnic” actress in that role — which makes no sense to me. Anyone remember Eartha Kitt?

  4. Dave Higgins says:

    I enjoyed it.

    Selena’s struggle to integrate the her new abilities and desires into her life had a good balance of humour and sadness.

    The mystical aspect let them be a little more over-the-top without straining credulity.

    Overall, an enjoyable piece of light entertainment.

Leave a Reply

