Writer’s Group

Last night I went to a writer’s group for the first time since… well, the last one I went to was before Thanksgiving, I think.  We had a harsh winter this past year, and I was exhausted from putting in extra hours shoveling snow, and then I just kind of got out of the habit by the time the weather cleared.

Also, I had no car of my own.  My roommate has been very generous about giving me rides, but I hate to ask her.

However, I now have my own wheels again (thanks to my sister) and I was able to go last night.  I realized how much I had missed it.  It was a very small group (there were three of us) at a coffee shop named after a character in Moby Dick (Ishmeal’s?  No, that doesn’t sound quite right.)

It was too loud to read samples, but we had a really good time talking.  Two of us have stories in a collection that is going to be released soon called Sins Of The Past, and that’s looking really good.  I like writing short stories, and one of the other writers had some good suggestions for finding more anthologies that accepted submissions.

I realized that I do get lonely, as misanthropic as I am.  Getting out and being able to talk face to face with other writers is important to me, and I’m going to make sure I maek it priority for next month.

 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writer’s Group

  1. njmagas says:

    We have one writer’s group near us and they’re all non-fiction writers. Great people, but no fiction writers. 😦

  2. sknicholls says:

    I enjoy my writers’ groups. There are two. One is general, mostly fiction and one is LGBTQ. The fellowship is worth my time, but they also stimulate me to step out of my comfort zone writing.

  3. Elle Knowles says:

    This is something j have considered but have not made time for. On my to do list now !

  4. Don’t have the energy – but I’ve slowly accumulated a few people who read what I’m posting, and provide lovely feedback.

    When you can’t do things one way, sometimes you can find a way to do them anyway. I taught myself to write because the energy to go somewhere to learn wasn’t available. I have a slew of books on writing for whenever I need a boost. It depends on what you want, and how badly you want it.

Leave a Reply

