A Deck Of Fifty-One

On Saturday I will be 51 years old.

Birthdays make me introspective and being introspective makes me want to try new things.  I have begun and ended each of my novels in August.

I have, as I said, completed The Worms Of Heaven.  I’m sitting on it for a while.  I have two people reading it right now, both careful readers who will find a lot of mistakes.  I’ll make their corrections and then I’ll do my own read through.

I’m really not in a huge hurry to publish it, I’m afraid.  I’ll get it out there soon, but right now I need to step away for a while.  I need to get out of The Book Of Lost Doors for a bit, get some fresh air.

So I am going to try something entirely new for me.  I’m working on an erotic novel.  I’ve been looking at Smashwords, and in the genre I’m writing I’m seeing a lot of 20,000-30,000 word “novels” listing for $5.99 and up.  More money for less work?  It’s worth a shot.

Being who I am, of course, it’s not going to be sweet and happy romance with fluttering hearts and gently pulsing… whatevers. Anything I write is going to get run through the meat grinder of my twisted mind and come out seriously broken on the other side.  That’s okay, there’s a market for seriously broken erotica.

I’m not going to publish under my name and it’s not that I am ashamed–when I’m ready to release I will make the info on how to buy the title available upon request–it’s more that I’m working in a much different style and tone.  Like I say, I need a break from what I’ve been doing for the last few years.

I probably won’t go into particulars in this blog, however.  I want to keep this one for my Amazon books.   So we’ll see what happens.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Deck Of Fifty-One

  1. sknicholls says:

    Good luck with that! It is an interesting thing to write something totally off your norm. Like experimenting with electricity.

  2. LindaGHill says:

    Have a happy birthday tomorrow, Misha. 🙂 I’d definitely be interested in reading your erotica – I share your twisted way of writing. In fact I was thinking about sending you a scene out of my first novel because, like you, I wonder if sometimes it’s a bit much.

  3. kingmidget says:

    I’m doing something very similar.

    And Happy Birthday. I’m one year behind you.

  4. Green Embers says:

    Indeed, have a Happy Birthday. Hmm, that does sound like an interesting idea, wishing you the best success with it!

  5. It’s now past midnight, so happy birthday 🙂 An erotic novel! It’s definitely a different direction, but I think you’re up for the challenge — one of my favorite parts about your books is the romance (then again, I’m a hopeless romantic!), so even if the end result that comes out of your twisted mind meat grinder is a bit unusual, I think it will still be amazing. Have a glorious Saturday, and stay awesome 🙂

  6. Looking forward to having a chance to read some of your new stuff as and when. It’s always exciting when an author stretches themselves to try something new. 🙂
    Good luck!

  7. lauraeflores says:

    Born on the 9th? Well what a coincidence, so am I, happy belated birthday! 😀 I feel you when it comes to taking a break from writing a novel… I’m gonna dabble with some short stories in between, another novel would just… break my mind.

Leave a Reply

