Bookkeeping

I updated my “Buy My Books” page, streamlined it some.  Now that I have three novels and am in a short story collection my page looks more serious and less… pathetic.  Clicking on any of the covers should take you to the Amazon page.

Confirmed with Brandon that he’s going to be narrating Worms Of Heaven.  I’m looking at mid-November for that.  Maybe sooner, he said it might be done by Halloween.  I’ll keep you posted.

Interestingly enough, I know another author who launched a new novel this past weekend.  Believe me, I know that he launched a new novel this weekend.  The info is on his blog, reposted on several other blogs I follow, and announced, as near as I can determine, on between half and three-quarters of the groups on FaceBook. I very seldom actually try to read Twitter any more, but I’m sure I’d find it all over there, too.

Now, I will freely admit that I am the world’s worst marketer, but I’m thinking that posting the title in ALL CAPS all over the place is not the way to go.  I’ve seen this ad at least a dozen times so far, and I am no more interested in the novel than the first time I saw it.

Less, actually.

I really don’t want to do that.  I posted that Worms is available in this blog, on my Twitter once, on my author FaceBook page.  I’m not a member of any FaceBook groups that accept ads, so that’s about it.

But, as I said earlier, Catskinner’s Book will be featured on E-Reader News Today on Wednesday the 3d of September.  It and Cannibal Hearts will be on sale for 99 cents that week.

Other than that, I rely on word of mouth, because that’s how I find books to read.  I tend to ignore authors promoting their own books, which is why I don’t do much of it.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bookkeeping

  1. Authors spamming their new books are annoying. That being said, you now most assuredly know the name of the book, as do thousands out there. And some people are more receptive to marketing tactics like that than you and I. So … I don’t know. Does the potential of irritating people outweigh the benefits of widespread exposure? Only time, and sales stats, will tell.

    Also, congrats on the third book 😀 I have it loaded up on my laptop and am trying to squeeze in reading between packing and truck loading and whatnot. I’ve found a few typos so far, which I’ll email to you when I’m done the book — and then I can buy my official copy!

  2. kingmidget says:

    I’m with you on the excessive promotion. Maybe repetition is the key, but I’m not interested in bombarding people because I’m like you. That kind of advertising drives me crazy.

Leave a Reply

