We Need To Talk

Look, uh, I don’t know any easy way to say this, so I’ll just cut to the chase. I think we should start seeing other people.

Well, what I mean is that I think I need to start seeing other people.  It’s pretty obvious that you already are.

Now… don’t get defensive on me.  You never claimed to be exclusive–that wasn’t part of the deal.  I knew going into this that I wasn’t your only one, and I’m okay with that, really I am.

But, you know, I’ve got needs, too.  I’ve put a lot into this relationship.  A lot of time, a lot of effort, a lot of myself.  And I am just not getting that much out of it.

For the past year I have spent just about every evening working on this project.  A lot of the time I didn’t want to.  I had other things that I could have been doing.  I work a full time day job, you know, 40+ hours a week, and I come home from work tired.

Instead of going out, or just sitting around watching TV and relaxing, I sat down at my computer and I worked on a book.  Sure, I enjoyed doing it, most of the time, but I’ll be honest, a lot of it was tough slogging.  There were a lot of times when I had to force myself to do it, because I really wanted to do something else.  Almost anything else.

But, you know, I did it because I thought that’s what you wanted.  I mean, that’s what you told me.  “Can’t wait for the new book,” you said. “Looking forward to it.” “Hope you finish the next one soon.”

And I believed you.  I pushed myself to work on The Worms Of Heaven because I thought that there was a demand for it.  I thought that I had a following.  I thought that there were people who wanted to know what happened next.

Six copies.

Six goddamned copies, people. 

I sold more copies of Catskinner’s Book the first week it was on sale, back when no one knew who I was or what I was writing.

If I had known that no one really wanted the damned thing I would have taken a lot more evenings off, I’ll tell you that.

So I don’t feel any urgency to work on the next one.  I’ll probably go ahead and write it, because I do enjoy it, but I’m sure not going to push myself to get it finished any time soon. I’m only going to write when I feel like it.  Maybe I’ll publish it, maybe I won’t, but I’m sure as hell not going to spend any money on it.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing, Who I am, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to We Need To Talk

  1. LindaGHill says:

    Hmm… I’ve been meaning to ask you for the past 24 hours or so… I can’t buy the Kindle edition on Amazon.ca. Is there anything that can be done to fix that? Because if I could read it on my phone or my tablet or anywhere else other than on this computer, I’d get it finished faster and then I could write you a review. And of course, if I write a review, it’s bound to sell at least a million or so copies… give or take 999,998…
    But seriously, I’m sorry sales are going slow. My guess is, people are still catching up with the other two. That’s gotta be it, right? Anyway, I really do want to buy it. Please, if you can, get it available to me!

  2. That seems to be the way it goes. I have three titles and am lucky to sell one book every two weeks. I’m going to keep going, but the fantasy seems dead.

  3. Nina Kaytel says:

    Don’t feel bad. The Alundra File flopped hard core too. Keep writing and each project will be better. By the way, I sold nine copies over all last I checked. 🙂

  4. Nina Kaytel says:

    ^ Four of them to compete strangers too!

  5. Jonas Lee says:

    Hang in there, Misha! I have you on my “to buy” list. That right there is an accomplishment if you know me.

  6. I was going to pick up a copy once I finished the ARC, but your plea has inspired me to just read this version instead, lol. It really sucks that people aren’t buying it, and I’m so sorry to hear that. What marketing have you done? I know that I technically have a lot of blog followers, but not that many people tune in daily, so I wonder if your “eager readers” actually are eager, they just don’t know about the book?

  7. Haven’t picked up my copy yet, but definitely will be. I have such a book backlog that I’m usually late to every party.

Leave a Reply

