If Dreams Are Like Movies Then Memories Are Films About Ghosts

You know that moment when you realize that you are in the middle of a project and have absolutely no idea what you are doing?

Well, maybe you don’t, but I do, and I’m there now.

See, I started working on a short story for an anthology with the theme of romantic horror.  That was an intriguing concept, and I always wanted to a creepy possessed doll story, because that’s one of my favorite horror sub-genres.  I figured, how about a creepy possessed sex doll?   And I wanted it to be a story about a couple, so I came up with this idea of a married couple and the wife has an vague medical problem so that she loses all interest in sex.  The couple has a solid relationship otherwise, and the wife doesn’t want to lose her husband and best friend, so she buys him this life-sized sex doll, and…

And this is where I am not entirely sure where I am going. Okay, to be honest, I have no idea whatsoever where I am going.  I’ve got some good atmosphere, I think, and a couple of awkward kind of erotic scenes with the man and the doll.  I don’t have an ending, really, or much of a middle, and I’m over 6,000 words in a story for an anthology where the range is 5,000-7,000 words.

In fact, I’m not sure if this is either romance or horror.  It’s just this thing that has moved into my computer like an enormous cuttlefish that has somehow become lodged on an escalator, blocking traffic and dripping gooey fish stuff so that everybody has to either take the stairs or go looking for the elevator.  Wow.  That simile was extra lame, wasn’t it?

In any event, I need to do something with it, either bring it to some kind of conclusion or let it die, and I’d like to get some feedback.  So if you want to read six thousand plus words of ambiguous magical realism relationship drama, kind of like Kramer vs Kramer vs The Bride Of Chucky, drop me a line via my rusty trust dusty Contact Me page, and I’ll send you what I have so far.  Specify your choice of formats, I use Open Office and usually send of files in either .rtf or .mobi, but I can do others.

Please, I really need some help here.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If Dreams Are Like Movies Then Memories Are Films About Ghosts

  1. sknicholls says:

    I recently saw a post on Facebook about romantic horror. I honestly didn’t know such a thing existed. I tried to find the post to share it with you, but you know FB…it scrolled away into oblivion somewhere. I don’t don’t think I’d read it because I don’t really care for either genre.

  2. paws4puzzles says:

    I don’t really have time at the moment – too much family stuff going on and projects I’m supposed to be working on (I’m not going to write for that particularly anthology). I suggest you ask in the group – I’m sure one of those nice folks would love to take a look at it.

  3. I haven’t even finished Worms of Heaven yet, so I’ll have to pass for now. It sounds really interesting, though. How can a story with a possessed sex doll possibly go wrong? If I were you, I’d have the sex doll asphyxiate him to death or something. Give it a really gruesome ending.

Leave a Reply

