To Avoid Complications, She Never Kept The Same Address

After thinking long and hard about how best to schedule my time, I have decided to concentrate on three projects, all novels.

First, of course, is the next Book Of Lost Doors novel, Gingerbread Wolves.  I am still excited by James & Catskinner’s world, and I do hope that I won’t make my fans wait any longer than the customary year before releasing the next one.  I have a good start on it, the first chapter and a half, and I have a pretty good idea where I am going, although I never seem to end up quite where I intend to go.

Next, Eisenstrasse. My co-author for that project has been away all summer, but she’s back now and ready to get working again.  I sat down and read what we have so far and I still think it’s good stuff, so tonight I sat down and wrote the next chunk.  For those who don’t recall, it’s a historical thriller about Cold War Era East Berlin, with a shifting POV.

Third, Tsarina.  That began as a short story for a Romantic Horror anthology, but once I started it kind of grew.  It’s a sort of Magical Realism Erotic Drama.  Carl and Ellen are a young married couple, very much in love.  When Ellen loses her interest in sex she buys a lifelike sex doll for her husband.  The doll, Tsarina, ends up becoming something more than just a toy.  I’m still not quite sure what I am doing with this, but I have a feeling that somewhere in there is a story that I really need to tell.

And that’s it! As much as I love starting new things, I have to stop doing that for a while.  Until I have one or more of these projects wrapped up I have declared a moratorium on taking on new projects.  This has meant that I’ve had to drop out of two different shared universe projects (one of which I started) but there are only so many hours in a day.

Now, back to work.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, Gingerbread Wolves, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to To Avoid Complications, She Never Kept The Same Address

  1. kingmidget says:

    Yes. An extremely important lesson. At some point one must finish the old stuff before turning to the new and exciting. Otherwise nothing ever gets completed.

  2. L.S. Engler says:

    It took me a while to get on board with the narrowed focus, only a few projects things, but, man, I am never going back. It’s so much more efficient, and when a new idea crops up, it’s a great motivation to blast through a project to open the door for the new one. And the idea behind Tsarina is fascinating. It’ll be really interesting to see where that goes!

  3. Elle Knowles says:

    Sounds like you will have a interesting next few months! And busy!

  4. kingmidget says:

    By the way, nice line from a classic Queen song.

  5. Keeping multiple projects on the go like that is very impressive, I must say. I find keeping one on the go to be hard enough, myself.

    Are you a pantser with your writing, by the way? I’m just wondering, because it sounds like you are from reading this post :).

Leave a Reply

