Beware The Groove!

It’s been a rough week.

It wasn’t supposed to be.  For a number of reasons–most of all, I think, the weather–my trip was far from relaxing.  But I really felt that when we got back late Thursday night that I needed a vacation to recover from my vacation.

So I haven’t done much except lie around and watch movies and play Jetpack Joyride on my Kindle.

Well, I did rework a chapter that my co-author wrote on Eisenstrasse. I am very happy with how that turned out–I feel that I am making a villain that will haunt reader’s nightmares long after they finish the book–and he’s perfectly human.  Dmitri Orlov.  Remember that name.

And I played around with the structure on Tsarina. I still am not sure exactly what is going to happen, but I feel like I have a form for it.  Structure is very important in my writing (although concealing that structure is also very important, so I hope that most of my readers aren’t aware of it) and this one is going to be written in four acts–I am deliberately adding an “extra beat” to the standard format.  Kind of like Brubeck did with “Take Five”, if that makes any sense.

Anyway, I feel like I am in fair shape to go back to work tomorrow–I’m actually looking forward to it.  I need to get my groove back, and as much as I kvetch about my day job, it gives me a rhythm to my days and my weeks that I am a little bit lost without.

This is like a visual metaphor or something.

This is like a visual metaphor or something.

See you in the funny papers.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Gingerbread Wolves, On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beware The Groove!

  1. I have committed the name Dmitri Orlov to memory. I pray only that the nightmares he induces do not overly affect my sleep schedule, as I too need to be in the groove.

Leave a Reply

