An Update

Yeah, I’m still here.

I’ve been doing reruns because I haven’t felt much like writing lately.   Got some of that boring real life personal stuff that I’m wrestling with.

But things are happening.  I have a story in an upcoming historical horror collection, Sins Of The Past. It’s scheduled for release on Halloween and I’ll be reading my story at an event at a local bookstore.   The story is called “We Pass From View” and I’m really proud of it, I got a chance to use my obsession with schlock cinema and mix in some Book Of Lost Doors references.

Reading my story in front of other people, however, isn’t something that I am even remotely comfortable with.  Maybe nobody will show up.

I’ve been working on Eisenstrasse. It’s turning out to be a really powerful story.  My co-author and I are working really well together, pushing each other to break new ground.  I think this one could really go places.

Still don’t know what the hell I’m doing with Tsarina. It’s getting to the point where if I am going to submit it as a short story to the collection for which it was originally conceived I am going to have to cut it down and find some kind of ending for it. I’ll try to do that over the weekend.

Gingerbread Wolves is on hold right now.   I know what I want to do with it, I just don’t want to do it just yet.  I still need a bit of a break from James & Catskinner’s world.  Not too long a break–I’m confident that I’ll have it out by next summer.

But I’m still here, and I’m still working.

 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, Gingerbread Wolves, On Promotion, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Update

  1. Hopefully things get sorted out; I know all-too-well the way real life and it’s “boredoms” can utterly derail the creative spirit (or at least the ability to put that spirit to use.) Good luck with the reading, though! Those can feel like nightmares, especially for misanthropic, introverted split personalities (which I somehow suspect many writers are; perhaps that’s just me), but if you can ignore the crowd and just get into the groove of your own story, I’m sure you’ll make it through.

  2. Kev says:

    Then hopefully Misha, this will brighten the mood and give you something new to post: http://kevs-domain.net/2014/10/12/misha-burnett-author-of-the-month/ 🙂

Leave a Reply

