Is Not Perfect Better Than Not At All?

I have been reviewing my first three books as part of getting started on my fourth, and while I enjoy them, it’s clear that they could stand to be professionally edited.

However, given the cost of editing compared with my sales, it’s also clear that it would be financially prohibitive to do so.  The total profit that I have made from the sales of all three books over the last three years would cover only a fraction of the cost of editing one book.

I don’t believe that editing would boost my sales considerably, either.  Having these books edited might result in a few more sales, but I don’t believe that I would suddenly start selling a hundred times as many books as I am now, which is what I would need to recoup the costs.

I have a choice, to either continue to release books that are self-edited, or not release them at all.  I have had enough positive feedback that I believe that my readers are willing to put up with the errors for the sake of the story.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Is Not Perfect Better Than Not At All?

  1. Rachel says:

    I have yet to read your books, but l’m sure people don’t mind. In fact, l just recently read the first Harry Potter novel and found some mistakes in there.

  2. Elle Knowles says:

    I’m working on editing mine – once again – myself, with the help of two other people and republish with a new cover before I release the sequel. I also find mistakes in professionally edited books. I’m with you on it probably would not be worth the cost to have it professionally edited.

  3. paws4puzzles says:

    I find mistakes in my supposedly professionally edited first book all the time. I’ve read your books and they’re really not that bad. I’ve certainly picked up self-pubbed titles which are a lot, lot worse.

  4. Many of us are in the same boat. I’d love to be perfect, but even a professional editor won’t accomplish that. I can’t bring myself to pay more for editing than the book is likely to bring back in sales. Right now, I look at cover art like other people’s greens fees. Everyone has a hobby and it’s acceptable to drop a little money into it. Art is cheaper than editors.

  5. From my perspective, while I did notice the errors, they didn’t impede my overall enjoyment of the story. So I’d say keep writing! Also, I marked out the places in Worms of Heaven where I noticed a typo, so I’ll type those up at some point and send them to you.

  6. agmoye says:

    Most of my books are self edited, but one I paid for a cheap editor and it still had a lot of errors. Like you, sales are not enough to pay for a good editor. Still I go back and re-edit them after a few months and upload the new edition trying to help sales.

  7. Yes. 🙂 (Not perfect is also human.)

Leave a Reply

