Counting Stones

This morning I finished reviewing the audio for The Worms Of Heaven. Brandon McKernan delivered another stellar performance.  Assuming that Audible doesn’t find any technical glitches in the files, I expect it will be available before Christmas–just barely, but still before Christmas.

There is nothing quite like hearing someone read your own work–particularly when the reader is both talented and passionate. There were some sections that brought me to tears.  Parts of this book are simply brilliant.  Pure poetry.

Overall, though… I have very mixed feelings about it.  Where it works, it works very well.  I’m just not sure that it really hangs together as a novel.  The pacing feels uneven.  The first half feels too long, and the second half feels rushed.  In places the sequence of events is unclear–I know what I meant to describe, but my phrasing was ambiguous.

Is it a good book?  I suppose it is.  I’ve gotten some positive feedback, and I think that there are enough good parts–and some very arresting imagery–to keep readers going.

It’s just not as good as I wanted it to be.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Counting Stones

  1. I think that’s always the case, though. Whenever you look back, there are things you want to change. For the record, I really enjoyed the book, so I’d say you did something right 😀

  2. sknicholls says:

    We are our own worst critics. I read remarkable words, and really enjoyed the read.

  3. Dave Higgins says:

    Ah… the spectre of the book you intended to write.

    As far as I know the only way to avoid it is to buy a gallon of whisky, drink a quart before you start typing, and consume the rest through a straw while writing the entire book in a single sitting. If you live long enough to reread the manuscript you will be amazed at how good it is in context.

    Worms of Heaven on the other hand, is a better book than you think.

Leave a Reply

