Heartsick

Car after impact 01122015 001On Monday, the 12th of January 2015, when I was in my office, writing, my was parked on the street in front of my house and it was struck by a neighbor’s car.

The neighbor in question was a young mother with her infant daughter in the car.  She told me that she had turned in her seat to check on the child, lost control of her car, and hit mine.

She was hysterical.  I helped her to get the child out of the car and into my house (it was under freezing outside) made her a cup of tea, called the police to get a report number, and helped her sort out her information.Car after impact 01122015 004

As it happened, she was driving legally, on a valid driver’s licence, in a vehicle that was registered to her and fully insured.  None of those things are a given in this town.

For the last three days I have been dealing with the situation.  It’s been a nightmare.  I don’t blame the other driver at all–she made an error in judgement, and she took full responsibility for her actions.  She came to me after the accident, found which house was mine and told me what she had done.  (Granted, her car wasn’t drivable, but I don’t believe that she would have driven off if she could.)

Car after impact 01122015 005The insurance company, however, has not been at all helpful.  They promised to get me a rental car, but then couldn’t arrange it.  The said that they would pay to have my car taken to my mechanic, but then towed it to a shop on the other side of the county. Which meant then that I and my roommate both had to take a half day off work to go up and get my personal items out of the car.

They decided to total out the car.  I was not given the option to buy the car back from them and I was not given a rundown of the damage, the estimated cost of repairs, and the rationale for deciding it wasn’t fixable.  I was just told how much they would pay me, and that was it.

The adjuster wasn’t available when we went up to get my things and the plates from the car.  Just as well–I would not have been a polite customer.

After numerous calls to numerous numbers, I have decided that the best way to deal with the situation is to mail the title to their claim center in Georgia and wait for them to mail me back a check.  It means waiting longer for the settlement money, but it’s worth it to not have to see or speak with any of their employees.

This car meant a lot to me.  My sister gave it to me in early summer, and it was the newest and best car I have ever owned.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Who I am and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Heartsick

  1. paws4puzzles says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry Misha 😦

  2. As already stated, that seriously sucks and I’m so sorry you have to deal with all this rubbish. Suggestion: once this is all sorted out, get a new insurance company. The one you have now is clearly useless.

  3. suejansons says:

    What a mess. I can say that agyer my major accudent my insurance company was not very helpful either. They were not good neighbors! And they were not there for me. Hope things get better for you soon!

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I have a very good insurance agent, a local man that I have dealt with for years. I wish everyone else used him, but then he’d be too busy.

      • suejansons says:

        It is usually not the agent but the adjuster that treat people poorly. And I get that they have a job to save the company money but they also have a job to take care of their customers. If only the agents were also the adjusters.

      • MishaBurnett says:

        For me it’s mostly been the claims agents. For one thing, you never talk to the same one twice, and so you have to explain the whole situation every time, and then they have to put you on hold to try to find someone who can answer a question.

  4. LindaGHill says:

    Can your insurance company help you deal with hers? What a sucky situation. I hope you at least get the money soon…. sorry about the car. 😦

  5. Rachel says:

    What a mess! That’s awful. So sorry about your car. 😦 But I guess it’s good that no one was hurt, right? Things will get better in time. Good luck.

  6. Diana S. says:

    I’m sorry to hear this.

  7. sknicholls says:

    I can’t imagine them not being able to get you a rental. That smacks of cutting costs to me. Anyone could probably pick up a rental close to you.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      No company that offered to pick up customers in my area had cars available, and I had no way to get to something farther away to get a car. I was told by one operator that they offered $25 a day for people in lieu of a rental car, but none of the other operators had ever heard of it.

  8. Elle Knowles says:

    So sorry for your loss. Is that appropriate? I think I remember you writing a post about when you went to pick that car up?

  9. I’m so sorry you’re having to deal with such a mess. I hope you get it resolved in your favor.

  10. Dave Higgins says:

    My condolences.

    This is one of the reasons I don’t totally miss doing mostly road traffic incident law: dealing with people whose insurer had sat on it to the point it reached lawyers, every single day was a little sad-making.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      What I am finding so frustrating is that I am having to do all the legwork in order to make anything happen.

      • Dave Higgins says:

        In my experience, many insurers work entirely on a pay-to-get-rid-of-you basis, so they only look at files when someone calls/writes about them.

        Potentially the biggest reason they get away with it so often (as seems to be the case with your accident) is in many cases the person who is expecting them to do something isn’t the person who is paying the premiums; own-client case handling is often much more efficient.

  11. SJ O'Hart says:

    Oh, no. What a terrible thing. I’m so sorry, and even sorrier than it’s cost you so much hassle and trouble. I’m glad the other driver and her child are okay, and that nobody was injured, but still. This sucks, and I sympathise. I hope the insurance end of things works out as well as it possibly can, and I wish you better luck in the future.

  12. My condolances. Dealing with insurance companies isn’t fun or easy under the best of circumstances, and given many of their policies and attitudes, it hardly ever qualifies for that appelation. One thing you might look into (if you haven’t already) is if your insurance company has any coverage regarding accidents that are technically the area of the other party’s insurance; some companies and policies have additional benefits (usually at least car rentals, but occasionally other service) above and beyond what may be covered by the other insurance, regardless of the circumstances. I know Progressive and Triple A do, at least (as I was required to carry them on some of my vehicles due to lease or financing terms.) Can’t hurt to ask, anyway, unless you’re just completely over the situation, which would be pefectly understandable.

  13. The saddest part is that YOUR insurance company would have taken care of you had the other driver not had insurance.

  14. Pingback: Update | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

