Book Drop

I’m feeling worn out and depressed and just plain grumpy right now, but at least I know why.

I’ve got Book Drop. For about a year I’ve been working on Gingerbread Wolves and now it’s done. I’ve got a couple of minor corrections that I’ve noticed, and hope to be getting feedback from some folks who were kind enough to read the pre-release version, but it’s basically as good as it’s going to get.

Personally, I think that’s pretty good. I’m on my third back-to-back read-through and the story still grabs me.  I think I’ve pushed my world and my characters just a little bit further, and I’ve got a couple of bits of genius and at least one genuine jaw-drop moment.

But, you know, as far as my day to day life is concerned, this book isn’t going to change anything.  The day after I wrapped up Gingerbread I was back at my day job.  When this one hits the market I still won’t be making enough from these books to live on. That isn’t likely to ever change.

It’s tough, dealing with that.  I love my writing, and I want to do a lot more of it–but it can’t be my real job.  It can’t pay my bills.

I go through this every time I finish a book.  It’s a huge high to get to the end, and like all highs, it’s followed by a crash.

Oh, well.  Back to work.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, Gingerbread Wolves, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Drop

  1. inablink777 says:

    We don’t write to make money. Yes, it’s a reason maybe, but not “THE” reason. The main reason we write is because it’s who we are and because we must or our heads would explode. Don’t lose heart. You’re a kickass writer, and not all writers can say that. And you just finished, what, your 4th book? That’s a HUGE accomplishment from any standpoint. I am in awe, I’m envious, and I applaud you. *Stands up and applauds*

  2. Betty Burnett says:

    Yep

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. LindaGHill says:

    I know the “book drop” feeling though I’ve never heard a name for it until now. As for making a living at writing, I don’t need to tell you how very rare that is. Keep writing for you. …and we who love your work of course.

  4. My clone and I call this feeling “post-project malaise.” I think it affects most creative people to some degree or another.

  5. Elle Knowles says:

    So wish all I had to do was write and make a living with it. Wouldn’t that be the life of Riley? But we have to eat! ~Elle

Leave a Reply

