And Now For Something Completely Different

I think I’m going to take a break from The Book Of Lost Doors for a while.  I’m feeling a bit fatigued–I still like the world and the characters, but I’ve realized that coloring inside the lines of that particular cosmology is cramping my style.

I will go back to James & Catskinner, I’m sure.  That story isn’t done.  I think that Gingerbread Wolves brought me to a good stopping point.  It wrapped up a number of story arcs, and the relationship between key characters–particularly James and Agony–has changed in a fundamental way.  It’s been a very rough last few years for James, and I think both he and I could use a vacation from each other.

I think that someone could read through the four novels–Catskinner’s Book, Cannibal Hearts, The Worms Of Heaven, and Gingerbread Wolves–with a sense of a story told in its entirety.

TsarinaCoverInstead, I think I’m going to try something completely different.  I’ve recently submitted two short stories for different collections, and I like short stories.  I’m going to be looking for more opportunities.

I’ve also gone back to work on Tsarina, which is, well, even more difficult to describe than the BOLD novels.   It’s a magical realism relationship drama, I guess. Right now I’m too close to it to try to figure out what it’s about.  I’m 8,500 plus words into it.  We’ll see what happens.

It’s a refreshing change.  I’m feeling again the sense of exploring new territory, of being able to make up the rules as I go and not be bound to what has gone before.  I need that.

The Book Of Lost Doors Novels are still on sale, through Thursday the 13th, so if you want the chance to check them out, now’s the time.

4Promo

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And Now For Something Completely Different

  1. LindaGHill says:

    As always, I look forward to whatever you write. 🙂

  2. sknicholls says:

    Good luck on your future endeavors. You’re a great writer. I’m certain you will be able to pull off any story you decide to tell.

  3. Great offer on your books and I totally understand your need to take a break from what you have been doing. It’s refreshing to try something different and it often recharges. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

