Why I’m Mad About Self-Publishing Stigma

A good, thought-provoking article.

Liz Long

I’m mad.

What’s worse is that what I’m mad about is truly something out of my control. There’s not a thing I can do about it except keep pushing barriers. To hold my head high and keep on keepin’ on with the rest of the crowd.

You can probably guess why I’m angry thanks to the headline. Wait – no, I’m NOT mad about self-publishing. But rather the thoughts behind self-publishing and the ideas that we’re not as good or “real” as traditionally published authors.

The publishing system isn’t broken by any means, but the stigma behind “traditional” and “indie” publishing has really gotten my goat lately.

I’m independently published, or self-published. What does that mean? It means I do not have an agent or traditional publisher backing me. It means that I’m in control of my stories, my edits, my covers, my marketing, and everything else that goes along…

View original post 962 more words

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I’m Mad About Self-Publishing Stigma

  1. Pingback: Murdering The Myth Of The Golden Ticket | mishaburnett

  2. Anyone who says to me that self-published books are horrid by default, I calmly tell them that I’ve read my fair share of garbage from traditional, big publishing houses in the past months and now it’s to the point I am back to not reading again. I think the qualifier of an author getting an agent and a deal with a traditional publisher is irrelevant when you read most of this stuff these days. It doesn’t even really matter. You are rolling the dice either way on just what kind of hot mess, you are going to get tricked into buying and wasting your time, and blowing your brain cells on. I watched a movie last night with a very implausible and idiotic plot twist. It reminded me of all these books I’ve been reading lately. Anyway, I’m rambling, and I guess I should say something totally stupid to be relevant as a writer who’s published right now to end this comment right.

Leave a Reply

