We Are Science Fiction

Today when I was running some errands I happened to notice (well, okay, my roommate happened to notice and point out to me) a Walgreen’s store that had closed and displayed a prominent “STORE FIXTURES LIQUIDATION” sign. Inside I found a rack from the books and magazines section and bought it for $10.  Behold:

We Are Science Fiction

We Are Science Fiction

This is The Dragon’s Rocketship Collection–so far.

As I have written before, I will be attending Archon on the first weekend of October this year, as part of a group of indie writers.  We will have a table in the Dealer’s Room, called The Dragon’s Rocketship, and five of us will present a panel on Hybrid Publishing in the 21st Century. (The convention programming committee hasn’t assigned us a time and place yet.  I really hope it won’t be too late–I’m an old man.)

We are independent authors working together to build an in-person presence at one of the largest and longest running science fiction conventions in the Midwest.  We are doing this without publishers (some of us are published by small presses, but the entire operation is author-driven) without publicists, without media backing, without a budget, working in our spare time.

The books that we will be selling at our table have been dropped-shipped to my house from the POD companies (mostly Create Space) by the authors and at their expense. My daughter will be handling credit card transactions on her tablet with a Square Reader. The table will be staffed by the authors and unpaid volunteers.

To date fourteen authors will be represented–I expect that we will pick up several more between now and October. The books are a broad cross-section of speculative literature, horror, romantic fantasy, humorous space opera, paranormal mystery, whatever the Hell it is that I write.

We are science fiction.  We are independent, we are here, and we’re not going away.  We have a Facebook group, and an e-mail list, and terrifying quantities of chutzpah.  That’s it.  Most of us have never met face to face.  We are doing this because we believe in our art.  We tell stories, and we want people to read our stories, and we’re willing to hustle to make that happen.

It’s a little over a month to go now.  Most of the groundwork has been done, now I’m just collecting the rest of the books and figuring out how I’m going to pack them all in my car. (It’s a little car, but the back seats fold down.)

If you’re going to Archon this year, stop by and say hello.  We’ll be in the Dealer’s Room, just look for The Dragon’s Rocketship sign.  When I have the schedule for the panel I’ll post that here. The authors who will be there have a broad range of backgrounds and it should be an interesting discussion.

Fortune favors the bold!

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We Are Science Fiction

  1. paws4puzzles says:

    Reblogged this on Paws4Thought and commented:
    As you can see Sins of the Past is already on this rack. My books will be joining the others – and I will be joining the panel and table at Archon. Hope to see some of you there!

  2. I’m making an effort not to clutter up my home with any more physical books. If some of your con-goers are like me, you might want to give out a business card with the titles of the books and the authors’ names. This would help customers remember to make an order on their Kindle or whatever.

  3. metallicwolff says:

    Reblogged this on MetallicWolff and commented:
    We have an awesome group. Thanks to Misha for taking charge and representing us at Archon this year.

  4. Pingback: Prepping For Archon | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

