National Write A Whole Bunch Of Short Stories Month

As of right now I have a short story in a collection that’s just been released, another in a collection that’s going through edits, a third that has just been accepted to a collection,  a fourth that I have just submitted and gotten an informal acceptance, and I am currently working on another for an anthology that has just been announced.

I’m kind of between novels.  Since I have wrapped up The Book Of Lost Doors series, I have been playing with ideas, but I keep running into snags with longer works.  So I am going to be concentrating on the short story form for a while.

In recognition of this, I am going to be participating in NaNoWriMo this year, but my goal isn’t 50,000 words of a novel, but 50,000 words of short stories. Mostly, though, I am looking forward to spending some structured time with other writers.

So I’ll be looking for anthology announcements.  I run across them fairly frequently.  I don’t expect that every story I write in November will be for a particular collection, but I’ll hit as many as I can.

In addition, I will be getting to the point fairly soon where I can start thinking about putting together a collection of my own.  The anthologies I have published in have first publication rights only, so I’ll have a number that I can republish in a collection inside a few months.  And, of course, it would be good to have a few original and exclusive ones to put in.

That’s where I am right now–for purposes of entertainment only, not intended to be definitive, past performance is no guarantee of future return, subject to change without notice, we assume no responsibility for failed predictions, and not to be used as a flotation device.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to National Write A Whole Bunch Of Short Stories Month

  1. I’m writing some short stories myself, but I’m not sure if they’ll ever be polished enough to publish.

    I also have a plan for a new series of short story reviews on my blog.

  2. Fred says:

    Sounds like a plan. I love reading SS but I haven’t managed to write a good one.

    They’re kind of like the haiku of fiction.

  3. LindaGHill says:

    What a great idea! I might be able to handle that, even though I’m going away. 😀

  4. Oh gosh, NaNo is right around the corner, isn’t it? I’m tempted to participate, but I’m finally making headway on my ridiculous “teenagers killing each other in space” story (working title), so I don’t want to abandon it for a month to start something new. Perhaps I’ll just keep trucking along with it, despite it being against the rules. Either way, happy short story writing!

  5. I also plan to write an anthology once I reach around thirty thousand words in shorties that can be put well together.

Leave a Reply

