An Update

I’ve been feeling a little lost in my writing life without a novel project to work on–yes, I know I had Tsarina, but that’s back on hiatus.  There’s still no there, there–I have all the trappings of a story, and some fun concepts, but there’s no basic conflict to drive a story.  I may go back to it, if something occurs to me.

I have been doing short stories.  I’m doing pretty well at it, actually.  They give me a chance to explore some new styles and formats.  Right now I have out there:

“In The Driving Lane”, being published in the upcoming collection Sins Of The Future, followup to last years Sins Of The Past (and which I am reading at a bookstore Halloween party tonight.)  It’s a cautionary tale, a kind Dangerous Visions style “If this goes on…” story.

“The First Man In The World”, being published in an anthology called All These Shiny Worlds. It’s a deliberate pastiche of early “hard SF”, a story about slower-than-light colonization of another star system.

“A Hill Of Stars”, being published in Cirsova magazine.  It’s my take on what the editor called “Sword & Planet” fiction.  I did a mashup of H P Lovecraft and E R Burroughs, setting it at the end of the Great Old Ones’ dominion over Earth, about sixty million years ago.

“The Silk Of Yesterday’s Gown”, submitted to an upcoming horror/romance collection called Forever Red. It’s a story about a polyamorous relationship between humans and unseely sidhe gone very wrong.

“The Darkest Hour Of The Night”, submitted to an upcoming collection of haunted house stories.  It’s about a haunted garage with a twist ending that I hope actually works.

Next up, I am working on a “The Winter Children” for submission to a radio show that is looking for Twilight Zone style stories for adaptation to audio plays.

So, I really am staying busy, it just doesn’t feel like it.  I think somewhere deep inside I feel that short stories aren’t “real” writing.

Ah, well–I need to work on that.

See you in the funny papers.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Update

  1. LindaGHill says:

    I know what you mean – it’s why I keep taking on NaNo whenever I can. I’m actually slightly torn between writing a novel and going to Japan… Only slightly. 😛

  2. kingmidget says:

    I get what you mean as well, but there’s an aspect of “real” that you get with short stories that you don’t get with novels — as you mentioned, writing short stories gives you a chance to experiment with things. That will help your novel writing in the future. Guaranteed.

  3. I feel like some ideas belong in short stories, others in novels. I’ve read examples where I thought authors made the wrong choice both ways.

    I’ve written a few short stories, since I could complete them in a reasonable time frame. I don’t want to start a novel since I know I don’t have time for it, and something about my personality makes me uncomfortable having a big unfinished project hanging over me, but not being able to tackle it.

Leave a Reply

