On the theory that sales can’t get any worse…

I have decided to rewrite the blurbs for my novels as sonnets.  To begin:

Catskinner’s Book

A stranger walks and lives alone
Or not alone, but rather wed
To one bloody as a murderer’s stone
Who lives locked up inside his head

Cut loose from cold comfort’s care
The stranger and his shadow twin
Seek, then find, the poisoner’s lair
And having found it, enter in

Another sundered soul they spy
Though cloven on a different line
The toothless mouth, the flowered eye
Yet in all else her aspect fine

His hands are red, her eyes are green
They hunt and fear the things unseen

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Book Of Lost Doors, Catskinner's Book, On Promotion, On Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On the theory that sales can’t get any worse…

  1. metallicwolff says:

    I like it.

  2. Certainly different; hmmm, now maybe a haiku? 🙂

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I’ve never liked haiku as a form.

      • My apologies. I think many perceive haiku to be easy and simple, probably without knowing much about it, so it’s likely there are a lot of 17-syllable poems that don’t represent the form well at all. And just for the record, I’m one of the ignorant, but have written only two “haiku” in my life, one of which was in school decades ago.

      • MishaBurnett says:

        I don’t think that they work well in an stressed language like English. English tends to fall naturally into a rhythm, but haiku, as I understand the form, is intended to be flat. But then, I also tend not to like blank verse.

Leave a Reply

