Story Bundle

I’ve mentioned Jefferson Smith’s Immerse Or Die Report before.

The concept is brutal in its simplicity.  Every morning he takes a self-published novel or story collection and gets on his treadmill for forty minutes. When he runs across something that breaks immersion–unclear syntax, wooden dialogue, boring exposition, pretty much anything that makes him look away from the page–the work gets one strike.  Three strikes, and it’s out.  The ones that make it past the forty minute mark without collecting three strikes are considered survivors.

EDITED TO ADD:  I was reminded that Jefferson Smith is joined by David Higgins in the “test to destruction” review process.  Dave’s no pushover, either.

It’s a tough standard–kind of a Gobi torture test for literature.

Of the two hundred and five novels that he put through the mill in 2015,he chose nine survivors to be included in the 2015 Immerse Or Die Story Bundle.

As it happens, Catskinner’s Book is one of the nine.

All Covers Large

Yeah, it’s there, second row, far left.  He didn’t like my original cover (in his review he said that it looked like it should be a cover for a book of “haiku about cancer”) and so he arranged for a graphic designer to make a new cover for the bundle.  He may be on to something there–I’m no marketing genius.

Now, the story bundle allows you to choose your own price–more or less.  For a minimum of 3$ you get the first five novels; Dark Matter, The Vampire Of Northanger, Rust, Colt Coltrane And The Lotus Killer, and Strange Places.  They represent a broad spectrum of independently published speculative fiction, and as I said, all have survived the IOD torture test.

If you pay at least 12$, however, you also get the lower four titles, Oath Keeper, Pilgrim Of The Storm, The Girl At The End Of The World, and my own Catskinner’s Book with the IOD story bundle edition cover.

I’d like to get the word out about this, not only because my book is in it, but because I believe that what Jefferson Smith is doing with IOD could go a long way towards reversing the impression of self-published works as low quality.  As indies, we need to hold ourselves to a higher standard than the traditional publishers–that’s not fair, but life’s not fair.

I don’t usually asks for reposts, but I’d like to see these links promoted to as wide an audience as possible, to give new readers a chance to see just how good self-published books can be.

 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, Catskinner's Book, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Story Bundle

  1. Dave Higgins says:

    Reblogged this on Davetopia and commented:
    As I’ve mentioned several times, Misha Burnett’s Catskinner’s Book is one of my favourite books. And several of the other’s in this collection are on my TBR list.

    Note: While I run the short-story subdivision of the Gobi Author Torture Program, I don’t receive anything from this collection – apart from the validation of having books I like publicly displayed as of high quality.

  2. mirymom says:

    Reblogged this on Mirymom's Blog and commented:
    There are a few here I’ve been meaning to read.

  3. metallicwolff says:

    Reblogged this on MetallicWolff and commented:
    Please give this a read. Some great authors involved.

  4. metallicwolff says:

    One of my favorite series…Great job Misha.

  5. paws4puzzles says:

    Reblogged this on Paws4Thought and commented:
    A cool selection of books including Misha Burnett’s awesome “Catskinner’s Book”.

  6. Reblogged this on Audrey Driscoll's Blog and commented:
    There’s something appealing about this concept. Even those of us without treadmills might want to try something like this. In the meantime, here are some books to discover!

  7. Reblogged this on Michelle Proulx — The Website and commented:
    Fellow author Misha Burnett has gotten his book into an awesome story bundle! Also, check out this really neat “immerse or die” review concept. I’m tempted to submit Imminent Danger, but I don’t handle rejection well, lol.

  8. First of all, congratulations on immersing and not dying! I’m tempted to enter Imminent Danger, but I’m really concerned he won’t like it and he’ll “kill” it, and then I’ll just be devastated.

    Second of all, congratulations even more on getting your book into the bundle! Awesome achievement — you must be thrilled!

    Third of all, I’m seriously digging this new cover. I think it fits the mood of the book fantastically well.

  9. That is awesome news – congrats! Heading over to buy it now 🙂

  10. Pingback: Super Secret Shiny Sneak Peak | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

