Cirsova Magazine Kickstarter Is Live

photo-original

Cirsova #1–Click For Kickstarter Page

I have mentioned before that I have serious reservations regarding crowdfunding as way of financing writing projects.  So it may seem hypocritical–or at least opportunistic–for me to ask for support for this particular project, since I am in it.

However, there is a big difference between this project and many others, and that is that the magazine in question is a finished product.

The stories have been written.  The authors have been paid.  The cover has been made and paid for.  The formatting is complete. I have seen and read the pdf file of the magazine.  This isn’t a “I want to be a paperback writer, so give me money and I’ll write something and it’s sure to be a best seller.”

This is, “I have invested my own time and money in producing a magazine, and here’s a chance to buy copies and advertising space in it.”

And that, in my opinion, is how crowdfunding should operate.

So what is Cirsova Magazine?  It is an independently published Science Fiction magazine, showcasing independent authors.  It is dedicated to recapturing the sense of wonder of the old pulps.  The editor put out a call for Sword & Planet fiction–science fiction and fantasy focused on swashbuckling adventure.

My own story, “A Hill Of Stars”, is a mashup of two of my favorite pulp writers–Edger Rice Burroughs and Howard Phillips Lovecraft.  Set at the end of the Great Old Ones dominion over the Earth, it is the story of a man leaving the ancient, empty city of his birth in search of his own kind, and finding that human beings can be as dangerous as any eldritch horror.

You can check out the Kickstarter link by clicking on the cover image above.  Please pass it along to anyone you know who might be interested in purchasing either copies or advertising space.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cirsova Magazine Kickstarter Is Live

  1. Dave Higgins says:

    I agree.

    And Kickstarter do too.; they require a prototype or other proof of product exists before you start the funding. Which – to my reading at least – means a publisher would have to have a completed manuscript.

    • Cirsova says:

      As a member of the RPG blogging community, I’ve seen countless very ambitious kickstarters to publish either board games, RPGs or RPG supplements go belly-up, get hopelessly bogged down and delayed, or -worse- squander all of the proceeds on something tangential to the project (conventions, advertising, previous unfulfilled projects).

      That’s why I wanted to have everything “done” on the front end, so I can minimize turn-around time for backers and deliver on my promises ASAP.

Leave a Reply

