An invitation to join the Eldritch Earth Geophysical Society

Cirsova Magazine Issue #1 is on the (virtual) stands, and Cirsova Magazine Issue #2 is currently accepting submissions.   It’s a magazine devoted to heroic pulp fiction, “Sword & Planet” style weird fiction–action, adventure, and danger on exotic worlds.

I have a story in Cirsova #1, it’s a novella called “A Hill Of Stars”.  I wanted to mashup two of my favorite pulp era authors–H P Lovecraft and E R Burroughs. So I set my story on Earth approximately 365 million years ago, at the end of the Great Old One’s dominion.  I have a mix of dinosaurs, Lovecraftian horrors, and human beings (the humans having been created by the Great Old Ones by “flash-evolving” proto-mammals in order to make intelligent servants).

I call my world the “Eldritch Earth”, and I am looking for authors interested in creating new stories set in this world.  I have a few places mapped out, in a vague way, but there is plenty of room for authors to include their own persons, places, and things.

I want to set up an e-mail list for discussing the world and assigning areas for development.  So far I have three non-human intelligent species (Great Old Ones, who are nearly extinct, the insectile Slagborn, and the fungoid Mi-Go of the frozen wastes of Leng.) I have some notes towards a number of human and semi-human civilizations, and a first generation map.

That’s about it.  I’d like to open up the setting for more stories with a pulp feel–savage warriors and decadent sorcerers, lost cities and indescribable monsters, all that kind of thing.

If you’re interested in learning more, please drop me a line via my handy dandy contact form, and I’ll put you on the EEGS mailing list.

EldritchEarthColored

 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An invitation to join the Eldritch Earth Geophysical Society

  1. I enjoyed Hill of Stars, and I’ll write up a review on my blog in a couple of weeks, after I publish the posts in my queue.

  2. Cirsova says:

    Reblogged this on Cirsova and commented:
    If you’re an author considering Cirsova’s offer on Lovecraftian stories, please consider taking a look at this. While I’m not saying “this is the only kind of Lovecraft story I’m looking for”, I think it’s a great example of a unusual and exciting take on the Mythos that isn’t strictly an investigator tale. And it’s definitely not Cthululz.

    Misha Burnett’s new Eldritch Earth project is something I am 100% behind.

  3. Pingback: Black Gate » Articles » Cirsova and Pulp Literature

  4. Pingback: A Conversation with Misha Burnett – castaliahouse.com

Leave a Reply

