Dialoguette #1

Recently I have began doing what I call “dialoguettes” in The Dragon’s Rocketship Facebook group. They are little bits of flash fiction that consist only of dialogue–no attribution, no description, just the spoken words.  My goal is to see how much world building and character building I can do in dialogue alone, while still keeping the flow of conversation natural sounding.  It’s a fun exercise, and I think the results have been interesting.  I’ve decided to post a few here:

“Wait. Cut.”

“…”

“Yeah, Dima, look–hang on a sec. Max, call lunch. Get the crew fed. Ok, Dima, can you… turn human for a minute? We need to talk.”

“Is problem?”

“Yeah, yeah. I’m just not feeling this.”

“I am not actor.”

“No. You aren’t. But that’s a good thing. We’re making a documentary here. We don’t want acting.”

“What do you want me to do?”

“Look, Dima, what we want–what the audience wants–is to see you and your pack in your daily life. They want to know what it is like to be a werewolf.”

“Is not much to know. We hunt.”

“And we’ve got that, and believe me, that’s some beautiful stuff. Gorgeous. You and Lana are golden. That part where you drive the deer to your kids–I got chills.”

“The cameras worked?”

“Oh, yes. You guys were great. And the interviews–great stuff. Your wife–man, the camera loves her, human and wolf both. But we need some… domestic scenes. Just try to forget we’re even here, and do what you would ordinarily do during a normal day. Don’t try to act–just live.”

“We’re predators. We sleep a lot.”

“I can’t show you guys just lying around sleeping. I mean, look, you do… things, right? You’ve got to do something other than hunt and sleep.”

“We mate.”

“Definitely can’t show that. Do you play any games? Like, with the kids, maybe? Tag or follow the leader or something?”

“I make scrimshaw. Carve bones.”

“There. That’s something. Let’s try you doing some carving and Lana maybe just curled up at your feet or something?”

“I can try that.”

“Good, good. Remember, this is your chance to show the rest of the world what your people are really like. Just… pretend that the audience is an old friend, and they are just visiting your home, and you’re all just relaxing together. Can you give me that, Dima?”

“I will try.”

“Great. How about you and Lana just hang out for a while. Get your carving stuff out, and we’ll just kind of… happen upon you. Don’t even look up. Don’t even notice we’re there.”

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dialoguette #1

  1. Hehehe “We mate.” Fun dialoguette! I love this concept.

Leave a Reply

