Dialoguette #2

Recently I have began doing what I call “dialoguettes” in The Dragon’s Rocketship Facebook group. They are little bits of flash fiction that consist only of dialogue–no attribution, no description, just the spoken words.  My goal is to see how much world building and character building I can do in dialogue alone, while still keeping the flow of conversation natural sounding.  It’s a fun exercise, and I think the results have been interesting.  I’ve decided to post a few here:

 

“Hello.”

“Oh. Good morning.”

“Morning.”

“She’s still…”

“Sleeping, yes.”

“Want some coffee?”

“Please.”

“Here.”

“You know where everything is.”

“I like to think so–oh, you mean here. In the kitchen.”

“Yes. You’ve stayed over before.”

“Quite a few times.”

“Me, too.”

“I figured. That’s your robe in the bathroom, isn’t it? I thought it was too small for her.”

“How long?”

“Have I been seeing her? Six months. Six or eight. You?”

“About that. Since October.”

“She never…?”

“No. Not a word. I assume that she didn’t tell you, either?”

“Heh. I asked her, and she said that she wasn’t seeing any other men.”

“Well, it was the truth.”

“We assume. But then she kept us a secret from each other.”

“You sound hurt. I thought that… last night, you know, was a big fantasy for men.”

“It is. And it was. But… you two, well, you’re serious. I can tell. Last night was wonderful, and I hope you didn’t hate it.”

“But you’re scared it’ll turn ugly.”

“Yeah. You could say that.”

“I know… I know she likes men. She was always very upfront about that.”

“I suppose that’s like to come up more often with, uh, you.”

“It does.”

“Look. I love her. More than I’ve ever loved anyone. I don’t know if I can learn to be happy… sharing her. But I am willing to try. I don’t want to just give up.”

“Me, either.”

“I think that’s what she wants… both of us. Like that.”

“Yes, that’s what she wants.”

“And you?”

“I didn’t hate it.”

“That’s good. I don’t want to be something that somebody has to put up with, you know?”

“You’re not. Not yet, anyway.”

“And are you willing to try to make it work, too? For her?”

“Yes. I love her, too, you know.”

“I know. Friends, then?”

“Yes. I think we should be friends.”

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dialoguette #2

  1. mobiuswolf says:

    Well, that worked just fine. Good idea.

Leave a Reply

