What Is “The Book Of Lost Doors”?

The Book Of Lost Doors is the collective name for my series of four novels, Catskinner’s Book, Cannibal Hearts, The Worms Of Heaven, and Gingerbread Wolves.

Cannibal      Worms      GingerbreadCatskinner

The four books tell the story of James and Catskinner.  James is a young man who was born into a cult.  When he was an infant, his father bound an alien intelligence to him–that’s Catskinner.  The novels are written in the first person, from James’ point of view.

I began this series with the intent to avoid the common mythologies that are prevalent in Urban Fantasy.  Instead, I drew upon New Wave Science Fiction and Horror sources for inspiration, primarily William Burroughs, Clive Barker, Samuel Delany and Phillip Dick.

Instead of vampires and werewolves, I have orthovores and ambimorphs, necroidim and minraudim, pale surgeons and blue metal boys. I wanted new characters, with strange capabilities and weaknesses.  I wanted a world that was strange and dangerous, but recognizable on the surface as being much like our own.

The overall story arc takes much from Lovecraft, but without the grim futility of most Lovecraftian fiction.  Suppose the Elder Gods were returning to Earth, but there was a chance to beat them.  What if monsters had been created to bring about the end of the world, but chose the side of humanity instead?

Mostly, though, I like to think this is a series about people.  Some very strange people, true, many of whom have been altered into something other than human, but still people for all of that.  There is love and betrayal, despair and hope, all of the fantastic drama that makes us who we are. Throughout everything that happens, I tried to never lose sight of what the events mean on the scale of one man’s life.

How well I have succeeded in this, of course, only my readers can tell.  The response seems to be very positive.  People have told me that they like the series, that they can relate to James and his struggles.  That makes me very happy. It tells me that I achieved what I set out to do more than I failed at it.

I think that’s the best I can expect.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Book Of Lost Doors, Cannibal Hearts, Catskinner's Book, Gingerbread Wolves, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing, Who I am, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What Is “The Book Of Lost Doors”?

  1. You have definitely succeeded. The quartet is a thrilling, thought-provoking, gripping read, and when I eventually see Catskinner’s Book at the top of the Bestsellers list, I will not be at all surprised.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Thank you. Your opinion means a lot to me. By the way, when can we expect the next installment of the Chronicles of the Ssrisk Empire?

      • Oh dang, I was hoping you wouldn’t ask that, lol. I’ve got seventeen chapters written thus far, but at least three of them are wrong. So allowing for my busy schedule and several dozen rewrites … sometime next century? Haha … ha. Kidding, of course. I’m aiming for early 2017, although realistically it’ll be more like mid 2017. Still, plenty of authors take 2 years between books, so I like to think I’m in good company.

        Speaking of not that at all, your quartet is in print format, right? How would I go about getting my hands on signed copies of the whole shebang? I feel like it’s a travesty that my bookshelf has no Catskinner and James gracing its cheap Ikea shelves.

      • MishaBurnett says:

        We can work something out.

  2. metallicwolff says:

    A truly excellent series.

Leave a Reply

