Sweet dreams that leave all worries behind you

So…

I have been very hesitant to come out and say in so many words, “I am working on a new book” because I have had so many false starts over the past year, but I think I’ve gotten to the point where I can say it.

I am working on a new book.  I think it’s time.  I’ve grieved for James and his friends for a year, and I think it’s time to move on.  I don’t think Sam is a rebound affair, I think we’ve got something that we could make work.

Samhain Jackknife is the son of the Fifth Lord of Nightmare and the Lady Bloodpox, a plaguebringer and daughter of Death.  Despite that, Sam has lived a very ordinary life on the Midworld, among humans.  He’s kind of a supernatural trust fund baby, with a nice income and plenty of free time.

Until he is approached by an old friend, Jake.  Jake and his wife Marji have an open marriage and Sam used to be be Marji’s lover.  Now Marji’s new lover, Karin, has gone missing, and Jake wants Sam to go to Nightmare to bring her back.

Confused?  You won’t be after you read the first few chapters of Bad Dreams & Broken Hearts, a metaphysical soap opera by the author of The Book Of Lost Doors and based loosely on a crossbreed of Little Nemo In Slumberland and The Chronicles Of Amber.

I’m currently working on chapter four, which I expect will bring me up to about 10,000 words when I’m done with it.  At that point I’ll be looking for people to read what I have and give me their impressions.  So if you want to see what I’m doing next, you’ll have your chance soon.

I’ll keep you informed.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Publishing, On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sweet dreams that leave all worries behind you

  1. metallicwolff says:

    YES!
    That sounds awesome.
    Let me know if you need anything. I’ll help however I can.

  2. “a metaphysical soap opera […] based loosely on a crossbreed of Little Nemo In Slumberland and The Chronicles Of Amber.”

    You have my attention…

Leave a Reply

