Think About It Seriously You Know It Makes Sense

I need a financier.

Specifically, I am looking for someone who is able to manage crowdfunding campaigns and raise money for short fiction anthology projects.

The short form business plan is a publishing company specifically designed to produce short fiction, multi-author anthologies.  The anthologies would be speculative genre fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror.  We would solicit fiction from self- and indie-published authors.

I know what I can do.  I can set the perimeters of the project, I can pitch it to the authors, I have the contacts within the writing community and I can expand on that. I can get the content, and I can manage the creative end of the project.

What I can’t do is manage the demand side. I can’t raise money, and I can’t sell.  I need to partner with a promoter who can.

I haven’t sat down and worked out exact figures, but my initial estimate is a thousand dollars for authors, and another thousand for proofing and cover art. I am not sure how much a crowdfunding campaign would have to generate in pre-sales in order to clear that after fulfilling all of the orders and crowdfunding extras.  Five grand?  Seven and a half?

That’s why I need a financier. I need someone who is willing to sit down and work out the details and then take responsibility for raising the necessary funds. I’ll handle the rest–getting the stories, selecting and arranging them, getting the project edited, buying the artwork, formatting the project, getting the files up on Amazon for sale.

Promotion after production will be aided, one hopes, by the individual authors–granted, they would have no financial stake after the initial sale, but the works will show up as part of their bibliography. Paid promotions may also be a possibility, depending on the success of the crowdfunding.

Giving the anthologies a recognizable brand will also, I hope, lead to suggestive sales of all of the titles. And I’ll do my own promotion, such as it is.  I do a little better selling other people’s writing than I do my own.

I have a lot of questions and I don’t have the answers.  I’m not even sure how many partners the initial project should have–perhaps more than one person on the sales side.  I’m fairly sure that I can handle the production side by myself–even assuming that I will keep my full time day job to pay my rent and groceries–but another partner to help put together the books themselves might be advisable.

What I have is a vision.  A market for new voices and a regular schedule for the production of quality fiction collections, in e-book and print editions, audio as well if I can swing it. I enjoy working with other authors, and I think I’m good at it.  I know that there are a lot of talented authors out there who are frustrated by the lack of opportunities in the short fiction market.

And I honestly believe that short fiction is necessary for the health of genre fiction in general.

I don’t know any financiers, and I don’t even know how to find any.  But I am sure that there are people with the skills I need who would be interested in the project. At leat, I hope so.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Think About It Seriously You Know It Makes Sense

  1. L.S. Engler says:

    My journal isn’t offering professional rates yet, nor does it have a lot of traction in the writing world yet, but I started the World Unknown Review three years ago, and it’s been going pretty solid so far, with well under a thousand dollars out of my own pocket. It’s not ideal, but it’s a start as I slowly grow it toward a more professional status. So it is possible to do it without a lot of funding, but not if you want to go all out with the big guns. I’m trying a more indie approach, building it from the ground up. I do most of the groundwork myself, too, and work through Amazon, so that cuts costs a bit. Also, it sounds like you’re regular schedule means more than just annually, so there’s that to consider, too.

    Basically, I guess I’m just saying that if I can manage to pull off a journal with my meager resources, you can definitely manage to get this going, and you should really go for it. The world could really use more fresh and exciting venues for great literature. I’m definitely interested to see more on how this develops for you!

    • MishaBurnett says:

      That looks really good, and is similar to what I want to do. I’m exploring options, but I am sure that there is plenty of room for these kinds of projects.

  2. Dave Higgins says:

    I’m not superb at sales either. However, I can format e-books and typeset print, so if you do want someone to handle setting up books I’d be happy to throw my skills into the mix.

  3. paws4puzzles says:

    Likewise – not a finance person, but if you need an editor, talk to me.

  4. MishaBurnett says:

    Thank you both. You’re part of the network of self-publishers I am counting on.

  5. You know I’m always up for promotion, so you can count on me. I”m much better at promoting others, as opposed to myself. Just keep me in the loop.

Leave a Reply

