A Few References

Just for the heck of it, here are some of the Easter eggs I stuck into The Book Of Lost Doors.  These are just a few I can come up with off the top of my head, I’m sure there are many I’ve forgotten I put in.

Catskinner’s Book: Godiva has a book called Benway’s Guide to Endocrinology. Dr. Benway is a character from William Burroughs’ The Soft Machine.
The Nova Crew, The Blue Metal Boys and the Minraudim are all from Burroughs Nova Express.
Macrobes and Eldila are both names for non-corporeal creatures from C S Lewis’ Out Of The Silent Planet.
Corbett Russwin is taken from Corbin-Russwin, a company that manufactures locks and commercial door hardware.

Cannibal Hearts: Exquisite’s real name, Charles S Harwood, is taken from a character in Donald Westlake’s Dancing Aztecs.
Bellona Staffing is taken from the name of the city in Samuel Delany’s Dhalgren. (I used Samuel as the name of the Pale Surgeon as an homage to Delany.)
Isodore Construction is taken from the last name of the main character of Philip Dick’s Confessions Of A Crap Artist.

The Worms Of Heaven: The title is a quote from Charles Fort’s The Book Of The Damned.
The name of the company in the first scene in the book is taken from Maitland Systems Engineering, the company that Tak Loufer worked for in Dhalgren.
The exclamation “Where will the little green man be next?” that one of the captive gamblers uses is from the name of the newspaper contest in Philip Dick’s Time Out Of Joint.
The line, “He wears no mask” that the legless woman (who shows up as the crab hybrid in Gingerbread Wolves) greets James with in The Orchid’s maze is a quote from Robert Chambers’ The King In Yellow.

Gingerbread Wolves: Samuel the Pale Surgeon’s last name, West, is from H P Lovecraft’s “Herbert West, Reanimator.”
Village Green is the name of the subdivision that I lived in as a child, in Springfield, MO.
The city of Zenith was taken from Sinclair Lewis, not Stephen King. (I think King also took it from Lewis.)
The Children Of Horus who fly alongside Agony’s invasion are the invention of my eldest child, Melody.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, Book Of Lost Doors, Cannibal Hearts, Catskinner's Book, Gingerbread Wolves, New Wave, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Few References

  1. LindaGHill says:

    The one that sticks with me is the name of the musical group at the end of The Worms of Heaven, I think it is. I don’t remember the name, but I do remember it made me laugh. I can’t find the books now – the only one that hasn’t been bumped off my phone (space restrictions?) is Gingerbread Wolves.
    Thanks for this, Misha. I don’t feel so bad about my own Easter eggs now. 😛 “Herman,” my main character in The Great Dagmaru was taken from one of Diana Gabaldon’s books – also a female character. I didn’t realize it though until someone pointed it out.

  2. LindaGHill says:

    I think my comment went into your spam folder…

Leave a Reply

