Placeholder Cover

WOHCoverVolThreeA

I realize that for most authors the cover is one of the very last things that you think about, but for some reason it’s important to me to have a working placeholder cover when I write. MzSusanB did this photograph (that is my hand and the wineglass is full of gummy worms dusted with potting soil) and she’s not entirely happy with it, but it will help me stay focused. We’ve got until whenever I finish the book to redo it.

The cover to Catskinner’s Book was a shot that MzSusanB did long before I started writing the book, when I was looking at cover ideas it just seemed to fit, somehow.  It also set a theme for the series, and I wanted other shots for the other covers that would be instantly recognizable.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Publishing, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Placeholder Cover

  1. It may be a placeholder, but I think it looks great! The gummy worms are maybe even better than normal worms, because they’re slightly transparent … and I can totally see heavenly worms being transparent 🙂

  2. Sue says:

    The cover of a book is one of the first things I do. It provides a focus. Unfortunately for my several WIP I cannot come up with an image. I love yours though

  3. sknicholls says:

    I actually like the gummies. Everybody recognizes them as a representation of the real thing. I would want them in my wine glass with dirt though…edible or not.

  4. Oloriel says:

    I can totaly relate with you, I feel much happier and atpeace when I have a cover placeholder, I think it is one of the first and most important steps for me.

  5. Seeing your cover in progress helps you to visualize your book as a finished product. It can give a boost of motivation when you need it. There have been a few times when I was stuck partway through a book and getting a cover for it was exactly what I needed to get back into it. 🙂

  6. ABE says:

    I have a cover, but it’s only words so far – though I’ve picked a perfect placeholder script, and a good subtitle (a novel of obsession, betrayal, and love).

    Your covers are very good: there is something in the title + picture + choice of shades of gray that is very attractive.

    BTW, I just bought Catskinner and started it – if you never gave me anything else for my $2.99 beyond the sample on Amazon, it would STILL be worth it. Looking forward to the rest. I’m a little leery – it’s way out of my comfort zone – but I also like Dexter, so maybe I’ll be okay. Your beginning, though – very solid – pulls you right in. I’m just not sure into WHAT – I haven’t been able to finish certain books because my imagination won’t let go once I get scary things in there. I was the one who absolutely refused to listen to ghost stores at camp. We’ll see.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.